We carry, and have access to, a wide variety of life jackets or PDF’s as approved by the US Coast Guard. Stop in and see what’s in stock!
Follow the Law
The following personal flotation device (PFD) requirements are effective for all waters within and bordering Minnesota. The law requires all children less than 10 years old to wear a life jacket on board all boats, with some exceptions.
The requirements for PFDs are as follows:
On all boats regardless of length (including canoes, kayaks and duck boats), there must be a readily accessible U.S. Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III or V wearable PFD (life jacket) for EACH person on board. Type IV throwable devices, such as buoyant cushions, are no longer acceptable primary lifesaving devices. IN ADDITION, on boats 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks) there must also be at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved Type IV throw-able device, such as a buoyant cushion or ring buoy immediately available for each boat. The law does not state that PFDs must be worn, only that they are readily accessible except for personal watercraft (Wave Runners, Jet Skis, etc.) and children under 10. HOWEVER… we highly recommend that PFDs always be worn by everyone on board any boat. Check the label on the PFD to make sure it is a U.S. Coast Guard approved flotation device and what type of device it is.
For more information on Minnesota Department of Natural Resources boating guidelines, please visit http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/regulations/boatwater/index.html.back